Select Notices And Intelligence. -- By: Anonymous

Journal: Bibliotheca Sacra
Volume: BSAC 002:7 (Aug 1845)
Article: Select Notices And Intelligence.
Author: Anonymous

Select Notices And Intelligence.

Classical literature. The reviving attention in our country to the works of Plato, of which there are many indications, may render a brief reference to the principal helps to the study of these works not unacceptable to our readers. First in importance is the edition of the Platonic Dialogues by Stallbaum of Leipsic. This eminent philologist was born in 1793. He was educated in the Thomas school and in the university at Leipsic, under the direction of Rost, Hermann, Beck and Spohn. From 1817 to 1820, he was a teacher in the Latin school and in the Paedagogium at Halle. While here he studied with great industry the works of Plato, as a fruit of which his edition of Philebus appeared in 1820 with rich prolegomena and notes. At the same time, he undertook the charge of an edition of the text of Plato, which was published at Leipsic, in 1821—25, in twelve volumes, the last four volumes accompanied with critical remarks. This edition retained a special value after the appearance of that of Bekker. Subsequently, Stallbaum edited Eustathius, Rud-diman’s Institutiones Grammaticae Latinae, and Terence. Since 1820, he has been connected with the Thomas school. When Rost left the

rectorship in 1825, Stallbaum was appointed in his place, which he now fills with distinguished honor. In 1840, he became professor extraordinarius in the university. About the year 1826, he undertook a new edition of Plato, to form a part of the series of the “Bibliotheca Graeca,” published by Hennings of Gotha, under the charge of professors Jacobs and Rost. The first volume was published in 1827, and contains the Apology, Crito, Phaedo and Symposium. A second edition appeared in 1833—36. The second volume contains the Gorgias and Protagoras, 2d ed. 1840. The third volume includes the Republic; the fourth, Phaedrus, Menexenus, Lysis and Hippias Major and Minor; the fifth, Laches, Charmides, Alcibiades Major and Minor, and Cratylus; the sixth, Euthydemus, Meno, Euthyphro, Theages, Erastae and Hipparchus; the seventh, Timaeus and Critias; the eighth, Theaetetus and Sophistes; and the ninth, Politicus and Philebus. The tenth volume, not yet out of the press, contains the Leges.1 The first volume contains an interesting essay of about forty pages on the Life, Genius and Writings of Plato. Each dialogue is preceded by an Introduction designed to place the reader on the right position to understand the argument of the philosopher. Grammatical and critical explanations accompany the text, written in Latin, remarkable for its clearness and purity. The merits of Stallbaum, and which have made him facile princeps of all living students of Plato, are accurate and profound philological learning,...

You must have a subscription and be logged in to read the entire article.
Click here to subscribe
visitor : : uid: ()