Book Reviews -- By: Anonymous

Journal: Bibliotheca Sacra
Volume: BSAC 114:455 (Jul 1957)
Article: Book Reviews
Author: Anonymous


Book Reviews

Our Reasonable Faith. By Herman Bavinck. Eerdmans Publishing Company, Grand Rapids, 1956. 568 pp. $6.95.

L. S. Chafer used to tell his students that they ought to read at least one theology every year. This is good advice for would-be theologians and ministers and, for any who might be trying to follow it, Bavinck’s work would be a very worth-while one for this year. The author, who was professor of theology in the Free University of Amsterdam, writes in the tradition of Calvin and Reformed theology. Thus all will not agree with his views on the covenants or on eschatology. However, the work is built on the inspiration and authority of the Scriptures and is replete with references to the Word. The writing is warm, for the author frequently relates the truth he is discussing to the life to be lived. The reader will benefit also from the many references and discussions of matters of historical backgrounds which are generally lacking in works on systematic theology. This English translation is of the digest of the author’s four-volume Reformed Dogmatics.

It is greatly to be regretted that the publisher did not see to it that subject and Scripture indexes were added to the volume. This lack certainly limits the usefulness of this book as a reference work.

C. C. Ryrie

Christ And His Church. By Anders Nygren. Translated by Alan Carlsten. Westminster Press, Philadelphia, 1956. 125 pp. $2.50.

Anders Nygren, the famous bishop of Lund, Sweden, presents in six chapters his analysis of the problem of ecumenicity. His point of view is that the contemporary theological and ecclesiastical approach to ecumenicity tends to divide rather than unite Christendom. To him the proper approach is through the concept of the inherent unity of the church. Central to his thesis is the idea that the prevailing Jewish Messianic expectation was essentially an error which Christ sought to correct in His revelation of the true unity of the church.

From the standpoint of Biblical conservative theology, Nygren’s guilty of both theological and definitive error. There is constant confusion of the organized church as such in the world with the Scriptural body of Christ. Nygren approaches, without ever grasping, the evangelical point of view. He is unwilling to face the fact that a large area of modern Christian profession is in fact not Christian at all. The central feature of his

own theology, the divine attribute of love, likewise glosses over divisive theological differences which not only divide the.organized church, but actually distinguish within it the true body of believers from those who do not kno...

You must have a subscription and be logged in to read the entire article.
Click here to subscribe
visitor : : uid: ()